Confirmation

On Monday Andrew and I went looking at houses again. The first was a surprise; the listing had no pictures at all but it was a gem. The second was a total bust. The house was horrible, too small, and the entire 22 acres that it sat on was totally devoted to raising livestock. The third rated low for me but higher for Andrew. But I just can’t see us living on ten totally barren acres; we have always dreamed of having treed property and this land had about three tiny trees on the whole lot.

Thus we went back to the first property we’d looked at, and took so. many. pictures. We inspected the place up and down, and walked around the property. In hindsight, I wish we’d done more property inspecting, but we will have to live in the house so…

Oh, yes. We will. Be living in the house, that is.

We decided; after our Realtor does some comparisons for us and after we get our finances in order, we thought this would be The One. Both Andrew and I wanted to pray about it some more first, to know for sure that this was The One.

Oddly enough, the next morning (Tuesday), one of the ladies in my small group emailed me. I wouldn’t say we are close friends; we’re obviously in the same small group and have had a couple meals together over the past year, but other than that, we haven’t hung out extensively. But just out of the blue she emailed me to tell me she’d read Psalm 37 that morning and that every line reminded her of our situation (I’d told our group everything that went down with our business collapse the previous year).

I read that Psalm a LOT in December and January, but I hadn’t read it in a while, so I did. It was like a warm blanket being tucked in around me on a cold day; so soothing and full of love. The whole thing talks about how godly people will be targeted by wicked ones, but the Lord will take care of those who trust in Him. Then I got to verse 29, and cried a little. “The godly will possess the land and will live there forever.” We have always called the house we intend to raise our children in our “forever home.”

Well, there you have it. I think that’s the confirmation we needed. Andrew thinks so too.

So yesterday I tried initiating a wire transfer to pay off our home, which we need to do in order to adjust our debt-to-income ratio in order to qualify for the new mortgage. But I filled the fields in wrong, which meant we lost $55 in fees (bah) and I had to try again. I think it sort of went through today…the money is once again gone, but there hasn’t been any confirmation. Gotta wait and see, I suppose. And look at pictures and dream 🙂

Leave a Reply

